Board of Directors

Each community appoints a Board of Director member to the KDSB Board from their respective Municipal councils.

Each of the four Unincorporated Territories elects a member to the Board of Directors.

The KDSB Board of Directors has a legislated duty to ensure:

  • The provision of social service programs and services to the citizens of the Kenora District, and
  • To govern these programs and services in the public interest, including fiscal and administrative oversight.

The Board is responsible for authorizing the direction of program and services delivered by the KDSB. Recommendations are developed by the Chief Administrative Officer and the KDSB, which identifies the service needs of individuals, families and communities.

Message from the KDSB Board Chair

Fred MotaIt is a privilege to serve as your Board Chair for the Kenora District Services Board (KDSB). 2024 marks the KDSB’s 25th anniversary in improving the everyday lives of families and individuals throughout the Kenora District. The Board of Directors ensures that the KDSB continues to provide proactive support and services to those who need it and build upon vital partnerships with Municipalities, Unincorporated Territories, First Nation communities, and stakeholders.

The KDSB is firmly committed to the communities of the Kenora District and is responsive to regional needs. The KDSB builds upon the principles of collaboration and partnerships, proactive government relations, purposeful and powerful communications, and intentional reconciliation.

Our primary strategic goals are to have an engaged and fully resourced team, responsive, equitable access to services, enabling infrastructure, improved community well-being and belonging, and to be recognized as a catalyst for positive change.

The Board of Directors is obligated to ensure our services are being delivered in a fiscally responsible manner. With commitment from the Province of Ontario, the KDSB will undertake this challenge with a positive and proactive outlook as we work towards a future where our District prospers.

The Board’s continued commitment to you is to focus on how we can support our communities in thriving and to be an active voice on your behalf. As Board Chair, I wholeheartedly look forward to the work underway to improve the everyday lives of those in the District.


Fred Mota, Board Chair
Kenora District Services Board

Board of Directors Membership

January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2026

Municipality / Unincorporated Area Representative
City of Dryden Jack Harrison, Mayor
Township of Ear Falls Dan Sutton, Councillor
Township of Ignace Jodie Defeo, Councillor
City of Kenora Lisa Moncrief, Councillor
Lac Seul Unincorporated Mark Sobchuk
Lake of the Woods North Unincorporated Barry Baltessen
Lake of the Woods South Unincorporated Dennis Wallace
Municipality of Machin Gord Griffiths, Mayor
Oxdrift Unincorporated Laurie Huffman
Township of Pickle Lake James Dalzell, Mayor
Municipality of Red Lake Fred Mota, Mayor
Municipality of Sioux Lookout Doug Lawrance, Mayor
Township of Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls Matt Rydberg, Councillor

Board Meetings

2024 Meeting Schedule  Download PDF

Date Time
1st Board Meeting January 18 10:00 am
2nd Board Meeting February 15 10:00 am
3rd Board Meeting March 21 10:00 am
4th Board Meeting April 18 10:00 am
5th Board Meeting May 16 10:00 am
6th Board Meeting June 20 10:00 am
7th Board Meeting July 18 10:00 am
8th Board Meeting September 19 10:00 am
9th Board Meeting October 17 10:00 am
10th Board Meeting November 21 1:00 pm
11th Board Meeting December 19 1:00 pm


Current Meeting Agenda  Download PDF

Past Meeting Minutes  Download PDF